Woe, Woe, Poolvember Has Come

The new Pool Update for Sims 4 (the Version 1.2.16.10 game update) was released while I was sleeping.  You can read the patch notes to see what has changed, but do keep in mind that they like to leave stuff out.

I hope you all made back-ups and that your game takes the update real well!!  I made full back-ups yesterday and updated Origin prior to going to bed last night.  My Sims 4 game will not be updated until I know it’s safe.

Last month, the ghost patch just broke too much for me.  I’m really worried about this pool update.  In the new patch notes, they mentioned “we have reverted the tuning as Sims changed ages that resulted in a shrinking of the eyes, and a widening of the jaw” but they also did this with the Version 1.0.797.20 released on October 21.  That was basically a “hotfix” between major game updates, and they claimed that it “Fixed an appearance issue that caused Sims to incorrectly appear with small eyes and wide jaws on age up. This was a result of a modifier value being improperly ignored for one age group, that resulted in the value being incorrectly applied, and was exacerbated if a Sim moved into or out of that age group.”  However, on the forums, it came out that all they did was remove the code they’d added, which messed up all ages–but our young adult males were still experiencing the problem.  (It also made it so female sims couldn’t develop large muscles, rather than truly preventing sims from gaining muscle by gardening or collecting.)

How can I trust they fixed it when they lied about fixing it already??  The only way I’ll know if it’s really fixed is to wait and watch the forums.

Thankfully I have tonnes of photos for my Sims 4 story, and I should be able to produce several more chapters without needing to open the game.

 

In addition to that, my husband pre-ordered Assassin’s Creed Unity for me today, and bought me a game that I’ve wanted to try but didn’t want to pay full price for, and that is The Bureau: XCOM Declassified.

 

You might wonder why I wouldn’t want to pay full price for such a game, considering that XCOM is truly my most favourite game.  The reason is that The Bureau is a spin-off, and I did not want to encourage the developers to continue making third person style XCOM games without continuing with the turn-based tactical strategy game that XCOM is meant to be.  Since they did fulfill my greatest gaming desires by releasing XCOM: Enemy Within, I am quite happy to purchase The Bureau at a discounted price 😉

That’s the best game ever made!!

So anyhow, now you know I wont be playing the Sims for a while, but I’ll be following the forums and writing my story.  If I like The Bureau, I’ll write something about it in my “Other Games” category, or do a Let’s Play on YouTube.  I haven’t done a Sims Let’s Play because I spend so much more time taking pictures than I do playing!  lol

Anyways, I wish you all good luck with your game!  If there’s any problems with the patch, please let me know.  I really appreciate that!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woe, Woe, Poolvember Has Come

  1. Ariadne2001 says:

    Wow your husband is awesome! I mean if he pre-ordered Unity for you (One of my favourite games) he knows what awesome means :D.

    • I agree with you, my husband is totally awesome! He knows what games I’m into because we talk about games all the time and share the games we play if the other doesn’t play it. In the case of Assassin’s Creed and XCOM, those are games we both enjoy!

Comments are closed.